fbpx

Michael L

Michael L

$58.00

Universities Attended

Undergraduate University: Cornell University

Year of Graduation: 2019

Majors/Minors/Specialization: BS in Biological Sciences

Graduate University:

Year of Graduation:

Majors/Minors/Specialization:

Academic Accolades:

-Dean's List (all four years) -Graduate Magna Cum Laude (GPA: 3.85) -National Society of Collegiate Scholars -New York STEM Incentive Scholarship -George and Harriet Cornell Scholarship -MCAT Score 90 Percentile -Biology Student Advisor for Office of Undergraduate Biology (Cornell) where I served as an academic peer advisors to all first-year students (freshmen and external transfer students) interested in the biological sciences major and hold weekly office hours. -Biology Service Leader (Advisory Board) where I • I advised a cohort of students to start a project with Public Services Center called Pollinator Pathway which has raised funds to create a 980-square foot flowering pathway for pollinators such as bees

Tutoring Experience

-Teaching Assistant for AEM 1220 (Entrepreneurship In Life Sciences) -Tutoring for Chegg and currently interviewing to be a tutor for Carnegie Prep -Informal tutoring for my fellow classmates in courses such as organic chemistry, genetics, evolutionary biology etc.

Philanthropy / Volunteering Experience

1) I was a member of Alpha Phi Omega, a service fraternity at Cornell that engages in service events in the Cornell campus and greater Ithaca community. I volunteered about 85 hours in various projects throughout my time as member of this organization. 2) During the summer where I stayed at Cornell to do research, I volunteered at the local Christian ministry soup kitchen called Loaves and Fishes twice a week. 3) During that summer, I also acted as an Achievement Coach at and organization called Village at Ithaca, whose mission is to promote excellence and equity in Ithaca and its school system. As an achievement coach, I mentored a high school student in subjects she struggled in (mainly math and SAT) and created a welcoming environment for student to ask questions in a non-judgmental environment to pursue her dreams of higher education. 4) I went on a service trip during winter break Morgantown, West Virginia to assist with construction of a new home for a former drug addict for Habitat for Humanity. Over the course of a week, I and a cohort of other students spent about 8 hours everyday assembling siding, roofing, cutting materials, erecting rooms and sheetrock 5) During the summers away from the University, I volunteer at my local hospital in the Emergency Department where I attended to roles such as escorting patients to their rooms, aiding the nurse and the technicians in cleaning the rooms after stay (bedsheets, pillows, returning wheelchairs, etc.)

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Michael L”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Go to Top