fbpx

Melissa D

Melissa D

$59.00

Hi! I am a high school English teacher who is taking some time off to move back with family.  I love education, teaching, and helping students!  I feel as if I connect with students because I am an athlete who loves playing soccer. I also love watching the NFL and am a diehard Steelers fan. When I have alone time, I love to read novels and short stories. When I am feeling creative, I love to paint, scrapbook, create banners. When I have the urge to travel, I love to visit my friends and family who live all across the country. As a teacher and someone who loves education, I have become passionate about social justice, educational equality, and global education.  Every child, teenager, or college student deserves a good and equal education, as well as those opportunities.  Because of this, I find myself staying informed during today’s political climate. I am not one to talk politics, but it is important to me to stay current as long as it impacts education. Lastly, I LOVE to spend time with my family, friends, and crazy dog, Sadie!  I hope to work with you soon!

Universities Attended

Undergraduate University: Chapman University

Year of Graduation: 2007

Majors/Minors/Specialization: Bachelors in Liberal Studies, English Literature

Graduate University: Brandman University

Year of Graduation: 2016

Majors/Minors/Specialization: Masters in Education, Teaching and Learning

Academic Accolades:

Single Subject Teaching Credential in English (2009) English Teacher (9th, 10th, 11th, ERWC, Advanced ELD) Common Core Curriculum Writing and Assessing Activities Director Graduation Committee Leadership Council Golden Apple Teacher of the Year (2016) Founded Athletic Academic Intervention Tutorials for student athletes

Tutoring Experience

I have over ten years experience working with high school students in preparing them for the ACT/SAT. I ran academic tutorials for student athletes twice a week for each sport in order to make sure they are eligible to play for the program I help seniors prepare for their entrance exams, college applications, and personal statements/college entrance essays. I have ten year experience working with students with learning disabilities (IEP, 504) such as dyslexia, ADHD, anxiety, or struggles with processing

Philanthropy / Volunteering Experience

National Charity League (middle and high school) Meals on Wheels (middle and high school) American Heart Association Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Served community in school neighborhood (carnival, rummage sales, prom dresses, etc.)

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Melissa D”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *