window.dataLayer = window.dataLayer || []; function gtag(){dataLayer.push(arguments);} gtag('js', new Date()); gtag('config', 'UA-153861240-1');

Abby W

Abby W

More About Me

I am a bookworm. I played competitive basketball for most of my life and still enjoy getting back on the court every now and then. When I am home in Colorado, I love spending time outdoors, especially hiking in the mountains!

I love tutoring because I see it as an opportunity to share my passion for learning and to encourage students toward their unique goals, inside and outside of the classroom. I see it as an opportunity to better appreciate how others think, and I have no doubt that I can learn as much from students as they can from me. I understand the many demands and stresses that students face and, from personal experience, I know the power of having someone to walk alongside you in academic endeavors, especially while learning Spanish! In previous tutoring experience, my growing knowledge of psychology has helped me to empathize with challenges that are different from my own and to develop creative strategies that enhance learning for each individual.

What to Expect in a Session:

For privacy reasons YouTube needs your permission to be loaded. For more details, please see our Privacy Policy.
I Accept

Education

Wheaton College - 2022

Psychology Major & Spanish Minor

Academic Accolades:

High School: - GPA: 4.33; Graduated Summa Cum Laude; AP Biology: 4; AP Language & Composition: 5; AP World History: 5; AP Calculus: 5; College: - GPA: 3.98; Graduated Summa Cum Laude; Member of Psi Chi; Honor Society - Member of the Wheaton College Scholastic Honor Society.

Tutoring Experience

Tutor at Valor Christian High School (October 2017-May 2018). I worked 1-on-1 with two students, helping with Algebra I and English. Tutor with Outreach Community Ministries (September 2019-March 2020). I worked 1-on-1 with a middle school student, mostly focusing on Math, and occasionally on Language Arts and Social Studies. Spanish Conversation Aide at Wheaton College (September 2020-December 2020). I led groups of introductory-level Spanish students, facilitating conversation and assisting with test preparation. Spanish Tutor at Wheaton College (September 2021-December 2021). I offered weekly, 1-on-1 tutoring sessions to a student who asked for extra help with reading comprehension, grammar, vocabulary, and writing.

Philanthropy / Volunteering Experience

Volunteer coach for kids’ basketball camps throughout high school. Volunteer tutor at Outreach Community Ministries in Carol Stream, IL. Family Refugee Services Intern at the Denver Rescue Mission. Volunteer receptionist at the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) in Wheaton, IL.

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this tutor may leave a review.

Go to Top